Provided by: darkice_0.16-1_i386 bug

NAME

       darkice - an icecast / shoutcast live audio streamer

SYNOPSIS

       darkice [options] -c config.file

DESCRIPTION

       DarkIce  as  a  live  audio  streamer.  It  records audio from an audio
       interface (e.g. sound card), encodes it and sends  it  to  a  streaming
       server.  DarkIce can record from:

           * OSS audio devices
           * ALSA audio devices
           * Solaris audio interface
           * Jack sources

       DarkIce can encode in the following formats:

           * mp3 - using the lame library
           * Ogg Vorbis
           * AAC - using the faac library

       DarkIce can send the encoded stream to the following streaming servers:

           * ShoutCast
           * IceCast 1.3.x and 2.x
           * Darwin Streaming Server

       Darkice runs on the following operating systems:

           * FreeBSD
           * Linux on intel and PowerPC
           * MacOS X
           * NetBSD / OpenBSD
           * SUN Solaris

       DarkIce uses POSIX real-time scheduling to  keep  up  with  sound  card
       input.   POSIX real-time scheduling is only available if the program is
       run as root.  Therefore it is recommended that DarkIce is run as  root.

OPTIONS

       -c config.file
              Specifies what configuration file to use.

       -v n   Sets  the  verbosity level, between 0 and 10. 0 is silent, 10 is
              loud.  Defaults to 1.

       -h     Prints the help page and exits.

BUGS

       Lots of bugs.

SEE ALSO

       darkice.cfg(5)

AUTHOR

       Akos Maroy <darkeye@users.sourceforge.net>

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

       Developed with contributions by

           Jim Crilly, <JCrilly@MSA.com>
           aNa|0Gue, <analogue@glop.org>
           Robin P. Blanchard, <Robin_Blanchard@gactr.uga.edu>
           Tom Gray, <tomg@future-i.com>
           Michael Smith, <msmith@labyrinth.net.au>
           Julius O. Smith, <jos@ccrma.stanford.edu>
           the OSALP team, http://osalp.sourceforge.net
           Kristjan G. Bjarnason <kgb@gangverk.is>
           Nicu Pavel <npavel@ituner.com>
           Kai Krakow <kai@kaishome.de>
           Atsuhiko Yamanaka <ymnk@jcraft.com>
           Ricardo Galli <gallir@uib.es>
           John Hay <jhay@icomtek.csir.co.za>
           Christian Forster <forster@like.e-technik.uni-erlangen.de>
           John Deeny <taqueso@dilapidated.org>
           Robert Lunnon <bobl@optushome.com.au>
           Enrico Ardizzoni <craken@users.sourceforge.net>
           Deti Fliegl <deti@fliegl.de>
           Nicholas J. Humfrey <njh@ecs.soton.ac.uk>
           Joel Ebel <jbebel@ncsu.edu>
           <jochen2@users.sourceforge.net>

LINKS

       Project homepage: http://darkice.sourceforge.net/

       IceCast homepage: http://www.icecast.org/

       ShoutCast homepage: http://www.shoutcast.com/

       Darwin             Streaming              Server              homepage:
       http://developer.apple.com/darwin/projects/streaming/

       Lame homepage: http://www.mp3dev.org/mp3/

       Ogg Vorbis homepage: http://www.xiph.org/ogg/vorbis/

       faac homepage: http://www.audiocoding.com/

       DarkSnow  GTK  front-end:  http://darksnow.radiolivre.org/index.en.html
       written by Rafael Diniz