Provided by: git-annex_7.20190129-2_amd64 bug

NAME

       git-annex-sync - synchronize local repository with remotes

SYNOPSIS

       git annex sync [remote ...]

DESCRIPTION

       This command synchronizes the local repository with its remotes.

       The sync process involves first committing any local changes to files that have previously
       been added to the repository, then fetching and merging the  synced/master  and  the  git-
       annex  branch  from the remote repositories, and finally pushing the changes back to those
       branches on the remote repositories. You can use standard git commands to do each of those
       steps by hand, or if you don't want to worry about the details, you can use sync.

       The  content  of  annexed  objects is not synced by default, but the --content option (see
       below) can make that also be synchronized.

       Note that syncing with a remote will not normally update the remote's  working  tree  with
       changes    made    to    the    local    repository.    (Unless   it's   configured   with
       receive.denyCurrentBranch=updateInstead.) However, those changes are pushed to the remote,
       so they can be merged into its working tree by running "git annex sync" on the remote.

OPTIONS

       [remote]

              By   default,   all   remotes   are   synced,   except   for   remotes   that  have
              remote.<name>.annex-sync set to false. By  specifying  the  names  of  remotes  (or
              remote groups), you can control which ones to sync with.

       --fast Only sync with the remotes with the lowest annex-cost value configured.

       --commit, --no-commit
              A commit is done by default (unless annex.autocommit is set to false).

              Use --no-commit to avoid committing local changes.

       --message=msg
              Use this option to specify a commit message.

       --pull, --no-pull
              By default, git pulls from remotes. Use --no-pull to disable all pulling.

              When remote.<name>.annex-pull or remote.<name>.annex-sync are set to false, pulling
              is disabled for those remotes, and using --pull will not enable it.

       --push, --no-push
              By default, git pushes changes to remotes.  Use --no-push to disable all pushing.

              When remote.<name>.annex-push or remote.<name>.annex-sync  are  set  to  false,  or
              remote.<name>.annex-readonly is set to true, pushing is disabled for those remotes,
              and using --push will not enable it.

       --content, --no-content
              Normally, syncing does not transfer the contents of annexed files.   The  --content
              option  causes  the  content of annexed files to also be uploaded and downloaded as
              necessary.

              The annex.synccontent configuration can be set to true to make content be synced by
              default.

              Normally this tries to get each annexed file that the local repository does not yet
              have, and then copies each file to every remote that  it  is  syncing  with.   This
              behavior  can  be  overridden by configuring the preferred content of a repository.
              See git-annex-preferred-content(1).

              When a special remote is configured as an export and  is  tracking  a  branch,  the
              export   will  be  updated  to  the  current  content  of  the  branch.   See  git-
              annex-export(1).

       --content-of=path -C path
              While --content operates on all annexed files,  --content-of  allows  limiting  the
              transferred files to ones in a given location.

              This option can be repeated multiple times with different paths.

       --all -A
              This  option,  when  combined  with  --content, makes all available versions of all
              files be synced, when preferred content settings allow.

              Note that preferred content settings that use include= or exclude= will only  match
              the version of files currently in the work tree, but not past versions of files.

       --jobs=N -JN
              Enables  parallel  syncing with up to the specified number of jobs running at once.
              For example: -J10

              When there are multiple git remotes, pushes will be made to them in parallel. Pulls
              are not done in parallel because that tends to be less efficient. When --content is
              synced, the files are processed in parallel as well.

       --resolvemerge, --no-resolvemerge
              By default, merge conflicts are automatically handled by sync. When two conflicting
              versions  of  a  file  have  been  committed, both will be added to the tree, under
              different filenames. For example, file "foo" would be replaced with "foo.variant-A"
              and "foo.variant-B". (See git-annex-resolvemerge(1) for details.)

              Use  --no-resolvemerge  to disable this automatic merge conflict resolution. It can
              also be disabled by setting annex.resolvemerge to false.

       --cleanup
              Removes the local and remote synced/ branches, which were  created  and  pushed  by
              git-annex sync.

              This can come in handy when you've synced a change to remotes and now want to reset
              your master branch back before that change. So you run git reset and force-push the
              master  branch  to remotes, only to find that the next git annex merge or git annex
              sync brings the changes back. Why? Because  the  synced/master  branch  is  hanging
              around  and  still  has the change in it. Cleaning up the synced/ branches prevents
              that problem.

SEE ALSO

       git-annex(1)

       git-annex-preferred-content(1)

AUTHOR

       Joey Hess <id@joeyh.name>

                                                                                git-annex-sync(1)