Provided by: liblog-agent-perl_1.001-2ubuntu1_all bug


       Log::Agent::Priorities - conversion between syslog priorities and levels


        Not intended to be used directly


       This package contains routines to convert between syslog priorities and logging levels:
       level_from_prio("crit") yields 2, and prio_from_level(4) yields "warning", as does

       Here are the known priorities (which may be abbreviated to the first 2 letters, in a case-
       insensitive manner) and their corresponding logging level:

             Name    Level   Traditional    Export
           --------- -----  --------------  ------
           none       -1                    NONE    (special, see text)
           emergency   0    (emerg, panic)  EMERG
           alert       1                    ALERT
           critical    2    (crit)          CRIT
           error       3    (err)           ERROR
           warning     4                    WARN
           notice      6                    NOTICE
           info        8                    INFO
           debug       10                   DEBUG

       The values between parenthesis show the traditional syslog priority tokens.  The missing
       levels (5, 7, 9) are there for possible extension.  They currently map to the level
       immediately below.

       The Export column lists the symbolic constants defined by this package.  They can be
       imported selectively, or alltogether via the ":LEVELS" tag, as in:

           use Log::Agent::Priorities qw(:LEVELS);

       The special token "none" may be used (and spelled out fully) on special occasions: it maps
       to -1, and is convenient when specifying a logging level, for instance: specifying "none"
       ensures that no logging will take place, even for emergency situations.

       Anywhere where a priority is expected, one may specify a number taken as a logging level
       or a string taken as a priority. If the default mapping outlined above is not
       satisfactory, it can be redefined by specifying, for instance "notice:9". It will be taken
       as being of level 9, but with a "notice" priority nonetheless, not "info" as it would have
       been implicitely determined otherwise.

       The routine priority_level() decompiles "notice:9" into ("notice", 9), and otherwise uses
       prio_from_level() or level_from_prio() to compute the missing informatin.  For instance,
       given "critical", priority_level() routine will return the tuple ("critical", 2).


       Raphael Manfredi <>


       Log::Agent(3), Log::Agent::Logger(3).