Provided by: liblog-log4perl-perl_1.49-1_all bug


       Log::Log4perl::Appender::Screen - Log to STDOUT/STDERR


           use Log::Log4perl::Appender::Screen;

           my $app = Log::Log4perl::Appender::Screen->new(
             stderr    => 0,
             utf8      => 1,

           $file->log(message => "Log me\n");


       This is a simple appender for writing to STDOUT or STDERR.

       The constructor "new()" take an optional parameter "stderr", if set to a true value, the
       appender will log to STDERR.  The default setting for "stderr" is 1, so messages will be
       logged to STDERR by default.

       If "stderr" is set to a false value, it will log to STDOUT (or, more accurately, whichever
       file handle is selected via "select()", STDOUT by default).

       Design and implementation of this module has been greatly inspired by Dave Rolsky's
       "Log::Dispatch" appender framework.

       To enable printing wide utf8 characters, set the utf8 option to a true value:

           my $app = Log::Log4perl::Appender::Screen->new(
             stderr    => 1,
             utf8      => 1,

       This will issue the necessary binmode command to the selected output channel


       Copyright 2002-2013 by Mike Schilli <> and Kevin Goess <>.

       This library is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the same
       terms as Perl itself.


       Please contribute patches to the project on Github:


       Send bug reports or requests for enhancements to the authors via our

       MAILING LIST (questions, bug reports, suggestions/patches):

       Authors (please contact them via the list above, not directly): Mike Schilli
       <>, Kevin Goess <>

       Contributors (in alphabetical order): Ateeq Altaf, Cory Bennett, Jens Berthold, Jeremy
       Bopp, Hutton Davidson, Chris R. Donnelly, Matisse Enzer, Hugh Esco, Anthony Foiani, James
       FitzGibbon, Carl Franks, Dennis Gregorovic, Andy Grundman, Paul Harrington, Alexander
       Hartmaier  David Hull, Robert Jacobson, Jason Kohles, Jeff Macdonald, Markus Peter, Brett
       Rann, Peter Rabbitson, Erik Selberg, Aaron Straup Cope, Lars Thegler, David Viner, Mac