Provided by: wdm_1.28-2.3ubuntu1_i386
wdm.options - configuration options for WINGs display manager
/etc/X11/wdm/wdm.options contains a set of flags that determine some of
the behavior of the WINGs display manager wdm(1).
/etc/X11/wdm/wdm.options may contain comments, which begin with a hash
mark and end at the next newline, just like comments in shell scripts.
The rest of the file consists of options which are expressed as words
separated by hyphens, with only one option per line. If an option is
present with the "no-" prefix, or absent, it is disabled, otherwise it
is considered enabled.
Available options are:
If set, this option will cause wdm always regenerate the
contents of the session menu when starting. It is set by
default but should be disabled if you wish to manually specify
the list of available window managers.
Normally, the contents of the /etc/nologin file will be
displayed using xmessage (if xmessage is available), and the
user will be returned to the wdm login screen after the xmessage
is dismissed. If this option is enabled, wdm starts a session
as usual (after the xmessage is dismissed, if xmessage is
Enable this option with caution on "production" machines; it
causes the wdm daemon to be stopped and restarted on upgrade,
even if the process has children (which means it is managing X
sessions). Typically when a package that contains a daemon is
being installed or upgraded, its maintainer scripts stop a
running daemon process before installing the new binary, and
restart it after the new binary is installed. Stopping wdm
causes immediate termination of any sessions it manages; in some
situations this could be an unwelcome surprise (for instance,
for remote wdm users who had no idea the administrator was
performing system maintenance). On the other hand, for machines
that stay up for long periods of time, leaving the old daemon
running can be a bad idea if the new version has, for instance,
a fix for a security vulnerability (overwriting wdm’s executable
on the file system has no effect on the copy of wdm in memory).
The wdm pre-removal script checks to see if the wdm process has
any children; if it does, it is possible that someone’s session
would be killed by stopping wdm, so a warning is issued and an
opportunity to abort the upgrade of wdm is provided. If this
option is disabled (the Debian default), wdm will be stopped and
restarted during an install or upgrade only if the running wdm
process is found to have no children. In the event the wdm
daemon is not stopped and restarted, the administrator will have
to do so by hand (probably with "/etc/init.d/wdm restart", or by
rebooting the system) before the newly installed wdm binary is
This option opens an xconsole(1) client to catch messages that
would normally go to the Linux virtual console and thus be
missed in many cases by the user. By default, this option is
only supported in the Xsetup file for display :0
(/etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0), but any Xsetup script may use it if
If this option is enabled (the Debian default), the sessreg
program will be invoked to register X sessions managed by wdm in
the utmp and wtmp files. Otherwise, it is not, and the utmp and
wtmp files will have no record of wdm sessions.
Flags controlling wdm used to be kept in /etc/X11/config on Debian/GNU
sessreg(1), xconsole(1), xmessage(1), wdm(1)
This manpage was written by Branden Robinson for Debian GNU/Linux and
modified by Marcelo Magallon for wdm.