Provided by: adduser_3.105ubuntu1_all bug

NAME

       deluser, delgroup - remove a user or group from the system

SYNOPSIS

       deluser   [options]   [--remove-home]  [--remove-all-files]  [--backup]
       [--backup-to DIR] user

       deluser --group [options] group
       delgroup [options] [--only-if-empty] group

       deluser [options] user group

   COMMON OPTIONS
       [--quiet] [--system] [--help] [--version] [--conf FILE]

DESCRIPTION

       deluser and delgroup remove users and groups from the system  according
       to    command   line   options   and   configuration   information   in
       /etc/deluser.conf and /etc/adduser.conf.   They  are  friendlier  front
       ends  to the userdel and groupdel programs, removing the home directory
       as option or even all files on the system  owned  by  the  user  to  be
       removed,  running  a  custom  script,  and other features.  deluser and
       delgroup can be run in one of three modes:

   Remove a normal user
       If called with one non-option argument and without the --group  option,
       deluser will remove a normal user.

       By  default,  deluser  will  remove  the user without removing the home
       directory, the mail spool  or any other files on the  system  owned  by
       the  user.  Removing  the home directory and mail spool can be achieved
       using the --remove-home option.

       The --remove-all-files option removes all files on the system owned  by
       the  user.  Note  that  if you activate both options --remove-home will
       have no effect because all files including the home directory and  mail
       spool are already covered by the --remove-all-files option.

       If  you  want to backup all files before deleting them you can activate
       the --backup option which will create a file username.tar(.gz|.bz2)  in
       the  directory  specified  by the --backup-to option (defaulting to the
       current working directory). Both the remove and backup options can also
       be  activated  for default in the configuration file /etc/deluser.conf.
       See deluser.conf(5) for details.

       If the file /usr/local/sbin/deluser.local exists, it will  be  executed
       after  the  user  account  has  been  removed  in order to do any local
       cleanup. The arguments passed to deluser.local are:
       username uid gid home-directory

   Remove a group
       If deluser is called with the --group option, or delgroup is called,  a
       group will be removed.

       Warning: The primary group of an existing user cannot be removed.

       If  the  option --only-if-empty is given, the group won’t be removed if
       it has any members left.

   Remove a user from a specific group
       If called with two non-option arguments, deluser  will  remove  a  user
       from a specific group.

OPTIONS

       --conf FILE
              Use  FILE  instead  of  the  default files /etc/deluser.conf and
              /etc/adduser.conf

       --group
              Remove a group. This is the default action  if  the  program  is
              invoked as delgroup.

       --help Display brief instructions.

       --quiet
              Suppress progress messages.

       --system
              Only  delete  if  user/group is a system user/group. This avoids
              accidentally deleting non-system users/groups. Additionally,  if
              the user does not exist, no error value is returned. This option
              is mainly for use in Debian package maintainer scripts.

       --backup
              Backup all files contained in the userhome  and  the  mailspool-
              file to a file named /$user.tar.bz2 or /$user.tar.gz.

       --backup-to
              Place  the  backup files not in / but in the directory specified
              by this parameter.

       --remove-home
              Remove the home directory of the  user  and  its  mailspool.  If
              --backup  is  specified,  the  files  are  deleted  after having
              performed the backup.

       --remove-all-files
              Remove all files from the  system  owned  by  this  user.  Note:
              --remove-home  does  not have an effect any more. If --backup is
              specified, the files are  deleted  after  having  performed  the
              backup.

       --version
              Display version and copyright information.

RETURN VALUE

       0      The action was successfully executed.

       1      The  user  to  delete  was  not  a system account. No action was
              performed.

       2      There is no such user. No action was performed.

       3      There is no such group. No action was performed.

       4      Internal error. No action was performed.

       5      The group to delete is not empty. No action was performed.

       6      The user does not belong to the specified group. No  action  was
              performed.

       7      You  cannot  remove a user from its primary group. No action was
              performed.

       8      The required perl-package ’perl modules’ is not installed.  This
              package  is required to perform the requested actions. No action
              was performed.

FILES

       /etc/deluser.conf

SEE ALSO

       deluser.conf(5), adduser(8), userdel(8), groupdel(8)

COPYRIGHT

       Copyright (C) 2000 Roland Bauerschmidt.  Modifications  (C)  2004  Marc
       Haber and Joerg Hoh.  This manpage and the deluser program are based on
       adduser which is:
       Copyright (C) 1997, 1998, 1999 Guy Maor.
       Copyright (C) 1995 Ted Hajek, with  a  great  deal  borrowed  from  the
       original Debian adduser
       Copyright  (C) 1994 Ian Murdock.  deluser is free software; see the GNU
       General Public Licence version  2  or  later  for  copying  conditions.
       There is no warranty.