Provided by: xl2tpd_1.2.0+dfsg-1ubuntu1_i386 bug

NAME

       l2tp-secrets - L2TPD secrets file

DESCRIPTION

       The   l2tp-secrets   file  contains  challenge-response  authentication
       information for xl2tpd,  the  implementation  of  l2tp  protocol.   The
       format of the file is derived from the pap and chap secrets file format
       used in pppd.

       The secrets file is composed of zero or more lines with 3 fields  each.
       Each  line represents an authentication secret.  The 3 fields represent
       our  hostname,  the  remote  hostname  and  the  secret  used  in   the
       authentication process.

       The first field is for our hostname, a "*" may be used as a wildcard.

       The second field is for the remote system’s hostname.  Again, a "*" may
       be used as a wildcard.

       The third field is the secret used if the previous two fields match the
       hostnames  of  the systems involved.  The secret should, ideally, be at
       16 characters long (the length of an MD5  digest  output),  and  should
       probably  be longer to ensure sufficient security.  There is no minimum
       length requirement, however.

FILES

       /etc/xl2tpd/xl2tpd.conf                        /etc/lx2tpd/l2tp-secrets
       /var/run/xl2tpd/l2tp-control

BUGS

       Please address bugs and comment to xl2tpd-dev@xelerance.com

SEE ALSO

       xl2tpd(8) xl2tpd.conf(5)

AUTHORS

       Michael      Richardson      <mcr@xelerance.com>      Paul      Wouters
       <paul@xelerance.com>

       Patched contributed by:
         Jacco de Leeuw <jacco2@dds.nl>
         Cedric Schieli <cschieli@gmail.com>

       Previous      development      was      hosted      at      sourceforge
       (http://www.sourceforge.net/projects/l2tpd) by:

       Scott Balmos <sbalmos@iglou.com>
       David Stipp <dstipp@one.net>
       Jeff McAdams <jeffm@iglou.com>

       Based off of l2tpd version 0.60
       Copyright (C)1998 Adtran, Inc.
       Mark Spencer <markster@marko.net>