Provided by: xserver-xorg-video-vga_4.1.0-8build2_i386


        vga - Generic VGA video driver


        Section "Device"
          Identifier "devname"
          Driver "vga"


        vga  is  an Xorg driver for generic VGA video cards.  It can drive most
        VGA-compatible video cards, but only makes use of  the  basic  standard
        VGA  core that is common to these cards.  The driver supports depths 1,
        4 and 8.  All relevant  visual  types  are  supported  at  each  depth.
        Multi-head  configurations are supported in combination with some other
        drivers, but only when the vga driver is driving the primary head.
        The vga driver supports most VGA-compatible  video  cards.   There  are
        some known exceptions, and those should be listed here.
        Please  refer  to xorg.conf(5) for general configuration details.  This
        section only covers configuration details specific to this driver.
        The driver auto-detects the presence of VGA-compatible  hardware.   The
        ChipSet  name  may  optionally be specified in the config file "Device"
        section, and will override the auto-detection:
        The driver will only use 64k of video memory for depth 1  and  depth  8
        operation,  and  256k of video memory for depth 4 (this is the standard
        VGA limit).
        When operating at depth 8, only a single built-in 320x200 video mode is
        available.   At  other  depths there is more flexibility regarding mode
        The following driver Options are supported:
        Option "ShadowFB" "boolean"
               Enable or disable use of the shadow framebuffer layer.  Default:
               This  option is recommended for performance reasons when running
               at depths 1 and 4, especially when using modern PCI-based  hard‐
               ware.   It  is  required when using those depths in a multi-head
               configuration where one or more of the other screens is  operat‐
               ing at a different depth.
        Xorg(1), xorg.conf(5), xorgconfig(1), Xserver(1), X(7)


        Authors include: Marc La France, David Dawes, and Dirk Hohndel.