Provided by: kdm_4.5.1-0ubuntu8_i386
kdm.options - configuration options for X display manager
/etc/kde4/kdm/kdm.options contains a set of flags that determine some
of the behavior of the X display manager kdm(1).
/etc/kde4/kdm/kdm.options may contain comments, which begin with a hash
mark and end at the next newline, just like comments in shell scripts.
The rest of the file consists of options which are expressed as words
separated by hyphens, with only one option per line. If an option is
present with the 'no-' prefix, or absent, it is disabled, otherwise it
is considered enabled.
Available options are:
Normally, the contents of the /etc/nologin file will be
displayed using xmessage(1x) (if xmessage is available), and the
user will be returned to the kdm login screen after the xmessage
is dismissed. If this option is enabled, kdm starts a session
as usual (after the xmessage is dismissed, if xmessage is
Enable this option with caution on 'production' machines; it
causes the kdm daemon to be stopped and restarted on upgrade,
even if the process has children (which means it is managing X
sessions). Typically when a package that contains a daemon is
being installed or upgraded, its maintainer scripts stop a
running daemon process before installing the new binary, and
restart it after the new binary is installed. Stopping kdm
causes immediate termination of any sessions it manages; in some
situations this could be an unwelcome surprise (for instance,
for remote kdm users who had no idea the administrator was
performing system maintenance). On the other hand, for machines
that stay up for long periods of time, leaving the old daemon
running can be a bad idea if the new version has, for instance,
a fix for a security vulnerability (overwriting kdm's executable
on the file system has no effect on the copy of kdm in memory).
The kdm pre-removal script checks to see if the kdm process has
any children; if it does, it is possible that someone's session
would be killed by stopping kdm, so a warning is issued and an
opportunity to abort the upgrade of kdm is provided. If this
option is disabled (the Debian default), kdm will be not be
stopped or started during an install or upgrade; the
administrator will have to do so by hand (with '/etc/init.d/kdm
restart', or by rebooting the system) before the newly installed
kdm binary is used.
If this option is enabled (the Debian default), the sessreg
program will be invoked to register X sessions managed by kdm in
the utmp and wtmp files. Otherwise, it is not, and the utmp and
wtmp files will have no record of kdm sessions.
Users of older versions of the Debian system should note that the
'run-xconsole' option has been removed. Shell scripts named
/etc/kde4/kdm/Xsetup and /etc/kde4/kdm/Xreset can be edited to disable
or modify the running of xconsole on the kdm greeter screen; see the
kdm manual page for more information.
This manpage was written by Branden Robinson for the Debian Project.
sessreg(1x), xmessage(1x), kdm(1x)