Provided by: kdm_4.8.2a-0ubuntu4_amd64 bug

NAME

       kdm.options - configuration options for X display manager

DESCRIPTION

       /etc/kde4/kdm/kdm.options  contains  a set of flags that determine some of the behavior of
       the X display manager kdm(1).

       /etc/kde4/kdm/kdm.options may contain comments, which begin with a hash mark  and  end  at
       the  next  newline, just like comments in shell scripts.  The rest of the file consists of
       options which are expressed as words separated by hyphens, with only one option per  line.
       If  an option is present with the ‘no-’ prefix, or absent, it is disabled, otherwise it is
       considered enabled.

       Available options are:

       ignore-nologin
              Normally,  the  contents  of  the  /etc/nologin  file  will  be   displayed   using
              xmessage(1x)  (if  xmessage is available), and the user will be returned to the kdm
              login screen after the xmessage is dismissed.   If  this  option  is  enabled,  kdm
              starts  a  session  as  usual  (after  the  xmessage  is  dismissed, if xmessage is
              available).

       restart-on-upgrade
              Enable this option with caution on ‘production’ machines; it causes the kdm  daemon
              to  be  stopped  and  restarted on upgrade, even if the process has children (which
              means it is managing X sessions).  Typically when a package that contains a  daemon
              is  being  installed  or  upgraded,  its  maintainer  scripts stop a running daemon
              process before installing the new binary, and restart it after the  new  binary  is
              installed.   Stopping  kdm causes immediate termination of any sessions it manages;
              in some situations this could be an unwelcome surprise (for  instance,  for  remote
              kdm users who had no idea the administrator was performing system maintenance).  On
              the other hand, for machines that stay up for long periods of time, leaving the old
              daemon  running can be a bad idea if the new version has, for instance, a fix for a
              security vulnerability (overwriting kdm's executable on  the  file  system  has  no
              effect  on the copy of kdm in memory).  The kdm pre-removal script checks to see if
              the kdm process has any children; if it does, it is possible that someone's session
              would be killed by stopping kdm, so a warning is issued and an opportunity to abort
              the upgrade of kdm is provided.  If this option is disabled (the  Debian  default),
              kdm  will  be  not  be  stopped  or  started  during  an  install  or  upgrade; the
              administrator will have to do so by hand (with  ‘/etc/init.d/kdm  restart’,  or  by
              rebooting the system) before the newly installed kdm binary is used.

       use-sessreg
              If this option is enabled (the Debian default), the sessreg program will be invoked
              to register X sessions managed by kdm in the utmp and wtmp files.  Otherwise, it is
              not, and the utmp and wtmp files will have no record of kdm sessions.

       Users  of  older  versions of the Debian system should note that the ‘run-xconsole’ option
       has been removed.  Shell scripts named /etc/kde4/kdm/Xsetup and  /etc/kde4/kdm/Xreset  can
       be  edited to disable or modify the running of xconsole on the kdm greeter screen; see the
       kdm manual page for more information.

AUTHOR

       This manpage was written by Branden Robinson for the Debian Project.

SEE ALSO

       sessreg(1x), xmessage(1x), kdm(1x)