Provided by: chkconfig_11.0-79.1-2_all bug


       chkconfig - enable or disable system services


       chkconfig -t|--terse [names]
       chkconfig -s|--set [name state]
       chkconfig -e|--edit [names]
       chkconfig -c|--check name [state]
       chkconfig -l|--list [--deps] [names]
       chkconfig -A|--allservices
       chkconfig -a|--add [names]
       chkconfig -d|--del [names]


       chkconfig  is  used to manipulate the runlevel links at boot time (see init.d(7)).  It can
       be thought of as a frontend to insserv(8).  Chkconfig can  run  in  six  different  modes:
       terse  list mode, set mode, edit mode, list mode, add mode and delete mode. The last three
       modes were added for compatiblity reasons.


       This mode lists the state of the specified services, or all known services if  no  service
       name  was  provided.  Every  printed  line  consists  of  the  name of the service and the
       runlevels the service is configured for at the moment. If it is configured in no runlevel,
       off  is  used  instead,  if  it is configured in the runlevels defined as a default by the
       start script, on is used. If the service is an enabled inetd or xinetd service, inetd  and
       xinetd  are  used. Inetd/xinetd services are configured in /etc/inetd.d and /etc/xinetd.d,
       respectively. You can use the -A or --allservices parameter to get all services (even  the
       boot.*-services) listed.

       If chkconfig is called without arguments, all services are listed in terse mode.


       Set mode is used to configure at which runlevel a service should be started. The arguments
       must be specified as pairs of service name and new state.  You  can  use  on  and  off  as
       special  states to select the default set of runlevels or to disable a service completely.
       You can use inetd or xinetd to configure a service managed by the inetd/xinetd daemons.

       If no services are specified, chkconfig reads lines from standard input.  Each  line  must
       consist  of  a  service/state  pair. As this is exactly the output of the terse list mode,
       this can be used to reconfigure a service specification saved by a former run.

       If the option -f or --force is also given, insserv is called with a '-f' option.


       This mode is a combination of the terse list mode and set mode.  It writes  the  state  of
       all  specified  services  (or  all  known  services,  if  no  service was provided) into a
       temporary file, starts an editor and re-configures all services to reflect the  states  of
       the changed temporary file.


       This mode can be used to check the state of a service.  chkconfig exits with a return code
       of '0' if the service is enabled in all of the specified  runlevels,  otherwise  the  exit
       status is '1'. If chkconfig is called with only a service name the current runlevel of the
       system is used for checking.


       List mode prints for each specified service a line that consists of the service  name  and
       for  runlevels  zero to six on or off depending if the service will be started or not.  on
       will be printed in bright green if the output is written to  a  terminal.  If  the  --deps
       option  is  given,  the  names of the services that must be started before this service is
       appended to each line. The inetd/xinetd services are listed in extra sections.

       You  can  use  the  -A  or  --allservices  parameter  to  get  all  services   (even   the
       boot.*-services) listed.


       Calls  insserv  to  enable  a  service  and  uses  list  mode  to  display the new setting


       Same as add mode, but disable the service.


       When no service names are given on the command  line,  chkconfig  defaults  to  all  known
       services  excluding those that are not enabled in runlevels 1 to 6 and start with 'boot.'.
       Use the --allservices or -A option if you want to see such services as well.



       list the runlevel configuration of all known services

              chkconfig apache

       list the runlevel configuration of the apache web server

              chkconfig -t apache xntpd

       list the runlevel configuration of the apache web server and  the  network  time  protocol

              chkconfig apache on

       configure the apache web server to be started on next boot time.

              chkconfig apache 5

       configure the apache web server to be started only if the system reaches runlevel 5.

              chkconfig apache 35

       configure the apache web server for runlevel 3 and 5.

              chkconfig apache on xntpd off

       configure two services

              chkconfig finger xinetd

       configure a xinetd service

              chkconfig -A >~root/

       backup the current configuration

              chkconfig -s <~root/

       restore the configuration

              chkconfig -e apache xntpd

       change the runlevel configuration interactively

              chkconfig -e

       change the runlevel configuration of all services interactively


              path  to  the  boot  script  base  directory as required by the Linux Standard Base
              Specification (LSB).

              path to the inetd services. See the inetd manpage to find out how  to  enable  this

              path to the xinetd services.


       init.d(7), init(7), inetd(8) xinetd(8) insserv(8)


       2003 SuSE Linux AG, Nuernberg, Germany.


       Michael Schroeder <>

                                             Oct 2006                                CHKCONFIG(8)