Provided by: inetutils-syslogd_1.9.2-1_i386 bug


     syslog.conf — configuration file for syslogd(8)


     The syslog.conf file is the configuration file for the syslogd(8)
     program.  It consists of lines with two fields: the selector field which
     specifies the types of messages and priorities to which the line applies,
     and an action field which specifies the action to be taken if a message
     syslogd receives matches the selection criteria.  The selector field is
     separated from the action field by one or more tab or space characters. A
     rule can be split in several lines if all lines except the last are
     terminated with a backslash (``´').

     The Selectors function are encoded as a facility, a period (``.''), and a
     level, with no intervening white-space.  Both the facility and the level
     are case insensitive.

     The facility describes the part of the system generating the message, and
     is one of the following keywords: auth, authpriv, cron, daemon, kern,
     lpr, mail, mark, news, syslog, user, uucp and local0 through local7.
     These keywords (with the exception of mark) correspond to the similar
     “LOG_” values specified to the openlog(3) and syslog(3) library routines.

     The level describes the severity of the message, and is a keyword from
     the following ordered list (higher to lower): emerg, alert, crit, err,
     warning, notice and debug.  These keywords correspond to the similar
     (LOG_) values specified to the syslog library routine.

     See syslog(3) for a further descriptions of both the facility and level
     keywords and their significance.

     If a received message matches the specified facility and is of the
     specified level (or a higher level), the action specified in the action
     field will be taken.

     Multiple selectors may be specified for a single action by separating
     them with semicolon (``;'') characters.  It is important to note,
     however, that each selector can modify the ones preceding it.

     Multiple facilities may be specified for a single level by separating
     them with comma (``,'') characters.

     An asterisk (``*'') can be used to specify all facilities or all levels.

     By default, a level applies to all messages with the same or higher
     level.  The equal (``='') character can be prepended to a level to
     restrict this line of the configuration file to messages with the very
     same level.

     An exclamation mark (``!'') prepended to a level or the asterisk means
     that this line of the configuration file does not apply to the specified
     level (and higher ones). In conjunction with the equal sign, you can
     exclude single levels as well.

     The special facility ``mark'' receives a message at priority ``info''
     every 20 minutes (see syslogd(8)).  This is not enabled by a facility
     field containing an asterisk.

     The special level ``none'' disables a particular facility.

     The action field of each line specifies the action to be taken when the
     selector field selects a message.  There are five forms:

     ·   A pathname (beginning with a leading slash).  Selected messages are
         appended to the file.

         You may prepend a minus (``-'') to the path to omit syncing the file
         after each message log. This can cause data loss at system crashes,
         but increases performance for programs which use logging extensively.

     ·   A named pipe (fifo), beginning with a vertical bar (``|'') followed
         by a pathname. The pipe must be created with mkfifo(8) before syslogd
         reads its configuration file.  This feature is especially useful fo

     ·   A hostname (preceded by an at (``@'') sign).  Selected messages are
         forwarded to the syslogd program on the named host.

     ·   A comma separated list of users.  Selected messages are written to
         those users if they are logged in.

     ·   An asterisk.  Selected messages are written to all logged-in users.

     Blank lines and lines whose first non-blank character is a hash (``#'')
     character are ignored.


     A configuration file might appear as follows:

     # Log all kernel messages, authentication messages of
     # level notice or higher and anything of level err or
     # higher to the console.
     # Don't log private authentication messages!
     *.err;kern.*;auth.notice;authpriv.none  /dev/console

     # Log anything (except mail) of level info or higher.
     # Don't log private authentication messages!
     *.info;mail.none;authpriv.none          /var/log/messages

     # The authpriv file has restricted access.
     authpriv.*                                              /var/log/secure

     # Log all the mail messages in one place.
     mail.*                                                  /var/log/maillog

     # Everybody gets emergency messages, plus log them on another
     # machine.
     *.emerg                                                 *

     # Root and Eric get alert and higher messages.
     *.alert                                                 root,eric

     # Save mail and news errors of level err and higher in a
     # special file.
     uucp,news.crit                                          /var/log/spoolerr


     /etc/syslog.conf  The syslogd(8) configuration file.


     The effects of multiple selectors are sometimes not intuitive.  For
     example ``mail.crit,*.err'' will select ``mail'' facility messages at the
     level of ``err'' or higher, not at the level of ``crit'' or higher.


     syslog(3), syslogd(8)