Provided by: logtools_0.13e+nmu2_amd64 bug


       clfdomainsplit - split Common-Log Format web logs based on domain name


       clfdomainsplit [--help] [-v] [-i input] [-d defaultfile] [-c cfg-file] [-o directory]


       The  clfdomainsplit  program will split up large CLF format web logs based on domain name.
       This is for creating separate log analysis passes for each domain hosted on your server.


       The  -v option specifies that verbose errors should be reported.   The    input  parameter
       specifies the file to read (default is standard input).

       The    defaultfile parameter specifies where data goes if it doesn't have a domain (either
       it has an IP address for the server or it doesn't  have  the  server-name  -  the  URL  is
       relative  to  the  root  of  the  web  server only).  The default will be to print them on
       standard error.

       The cfg-file parameter is for specifying the rules for determining  what  is  a  different
       domain  name.   For  example belongs in the same file as and because domain names ending in .au  have  three  major  components.   The
       domain  names and belong in the same file because domain
       names ending in .nl have two major components (as do  .com,  and  .gov),  wheras  anything
       ending  in .va belongs to the same organization.  The rules are of the form number:pattern
       which lists the number of domain parts which are significant (2 for .com and for a  simple
       string comparison, the default will be:





       If  no  config file is specified then it will look for /etc/clfdomainsplit.cfg.  Of course
       comments start with #.  Also note that the first match will be used!

       The directory parameter is to specify the location for the files to be created (default is
       the current directory).  I recommend that you use a directory for this and nothing else as
       you never know how many files may be created!


       0 No errors

       1 Bad parameters


       This program, its manual page, and the  Debian  package  were  written  by  Russell  Coker